Jeannie Ferris Award - 2015

Cancer Australia is pleased to announce Ms Bridget Whelan and Professor Michael Friedlander AM as the 2015 recipients of the Jeannie Ferris Cancer Australia Recognition Award.

Ms Bridget Whelan is the successful recipient of Category One of the Award, open to those with personal experience of gynaecological cancer either as a woman with a diagnosis of gynaecological cancer, a community member, or family member or carer who has made an exceptional contribution to supporting women affected by gynaecological cancer. Bridget has worked to increase the profile of ovarian cancer and its impact on the community, has championed integrating the consumer perspective into ovarian cancer research, and has advocated for improving the quality of information available to women affected by ovarian cancer.

Professor Michael Friedlander AM is the successful recipient of Category Two of the Award, open to health professionals or researchers, working in the area of gynaecological cancer. Professor Friedlander AM has a long and distinguished career as a medical oncologist, and has been involved both at a national and international level in the field of gynaecological oncology for the last 30 years. Professor Friedlander AM has made an outstanding contribution to improving outcomes for women with gynaecological cancer across research, clinical practice, community education, advocacy and policy.

This Award is named in honour of the late Jeannie Ferris, former Senator for South Australia who was passionately committed to raising awareness about gynaecological cancer in Australia. Senator Ferris was diagnosed with ovarian cancer in October 2005 and passed away in April 2007.