New Award to recognise achievement in gynaecological cancers

Release Date: 


News Type: 

  • Announcement

Cancer Australia is calling for nominations for its first Jeannie Ferris Cancer Australia Recognition Award. 

The Jeannie Ferris Cancer Australia Recognition Award will recognise outstanding contribution to improving outcomes for women with gynaecological cancers. 

The Award is open to:

  1. those with a personal experience of gynaecological cancer, as a woman with a diagnosis of gynaecological cancer, as a community member, or family members or carers who have been directly involved in supporting a woman with gynaecological cancer; and
  2. health professionals or researchers working in the area of gynaecological cancers.

The Award comprises a gift of $2,000 and a commemorative token.

This Award is named in honour of the late Jeannie Ferris, former Senator for South Australia who was passionately committed to raising awareness about gynaecological cancers in Australia.  Senator Ferris was diagnosed with ovarian cancer in October 2005 and passed away in April 2007.

Nominations now closed

Thank you for your interest in the Jeannie Ferris Cancer Australia Recognition Award.  The call for nominations has closed. 

The Awards will be announced in late June 2013.  Information about the successful Award recipients will be posted on the Cancer Australia web site in July 2013.

Click here to download the media release: New Award to recognise achievement in gynaecological cancers (DOC 25KB)